Our History

2017-2018 School Year Celebrations

PBIS Status for 2017 = “Operational”
HMS earned GASSP 2017 Breakout School recognition
CCRPI: 70.4 (2016) to 73.9 (2017)
Climate Star Rating: 3rd straight year of 4 Stars
Layla Floyd chosen as WMAZ Junior Journalist
Brinda Patel chosen on State Superintendent’s Advisory Council
Oshin Rawal chosen to participate in Young Entrepreneurship Academy
HMS Recognized as a “Beating the Odds” school
MAX Trained teachers: Merrill, Thurman, Wilder, McWhorter
Ms. R. Smith awarded Flint Energy “Bright Ideas” Grant
Custodial Team – Perfect Score (Fall 2017)
Certified Staff – 100% Certified MIE
Completed The Leader In Me book study
Creation and expansion of HMS News Team & Video Production
Student Led conferences piloted by 7.3 students
Leo Zhang – won District Patriot’s Pen Essay Contes
Leo Zhang - Barnes & Nobel My Favorite Teacher Essay (about Ms. B. Brown)
Grade Recovery for 6th, 7th, & 8th students in ELA & Math
Dimitri Chambers – selected as HMS Cox Inspirational Hero
Jane Ferguson – Top Grand Volunteer
Jason Wang – honored as American Red Cross Hometown Hero
Jalayzha Williams – selected as REACH Scholar
JLC – won 1st ever BCSD MS drill competition
HMS Teacher of  the Year – Ms. Naomi Wilcher
BCSD Media Specialist of the Year – Ms. Sarah Chancellor

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.